ECE Home > Research Labs > MEMS Lab


Origin of NMDC:

   A National MEMS Design Centre (NMDC) at our institute has been established in the year 2011 under National Program on Micro and Smart Systems (NPMASS) for the benefit of users from the nearby isolated region. LBRCE motivates the research activity in the field of Micro Electro Mechanical Systems (MEMS) by proper utilization of the facilities provided by NPMASS from design to fabrication of prototype MEMS products and specific field applications. LBRCE will also facilitate external researchers, faculty and graduate/post graduate students from other interested institutes (academic or National Labs subject to individual software licensing conditions) to use the provided design tools. This MEMS network centre is a centralized laboratory for creating new modules of MEMS based devices.

Inauguration Details::

   National MEMS Design Centre (NMDC) at our institute has been inaugurated on 22-02-2011 in the Department of Electronics and Instrumentation Engineering by the Hon’ble Chairman, Er. Lakireddy Bali Reddy Garu & Prof. S. Mohan (Centre for Excellence – Nano Electronics), Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore as the guest of Honor. NMDC was established with the support and collaboration of Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore under NPMASS Program (National Program on Micro and Smart Systems), and Govt. of India.


   The National Program on Micro and Smart Systems (NPMASS) has been launched after the success of National Program on Smart Materials (NPSM), which is a unique program, working towards the basic aim of creating awareness in India about MEMS and Smart Systems. The NPMASS under Government of India is wholly supported by Defence Research & Development Organization (DRDO) through Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA), and is endorsed by the five departments DRDO, Department of Space (DOS), Department of Science and Technology (DST), Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) and Department of Information Technology (DIT).

Lab Mentor : Dr. T. Satyanarayana, Professor

Lab Incharge : Ms. M. Ramya Harika, Sr. Asst. Professor

Lab Co-Incharge : Mr. B. P. Madhusudhan, Asst. Professor

Lab Technician : Mr. D. Naresh, Lab Technician